Permissions requests 

All Louis Zukofsky and Celia Zukofsky materials are copyright © Musical Observations, Inc. All permission fees go to support Musical Observations, Inc., a registered non-profit.  Requests for permission to use such materials can be made using the form below.

Where applicable, permission fees and other possible restrictions on use will be determined on a case-by-case basis, including for translations, performances, recordings, images or the inclusion of materials in non-critical works, such as anthologies. The copyright covers unpublished as well as published materials; however, it should be kept in mind that the holders of unpublished materials, such as the Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center at the University of Texas at Austin, have their own requirements, restrictions and fees for the use of such materials, particularly for the use of images of archival materials, for which the author must obtain separate permission.

  1. Use fees are to be paid in advance and cover one-time, non-exclusive use only unless otherwise indicated.
  2. Payment of fees can be made through the Musical Observations homepage "donate: button using Paypal, or by checks made out to Musical Observations, Inc. and sent to c/o Van Norstrand & Hoolihan, CAP’s P.C. 187 East Market St. Ste. 202, Rhinebeck, NY 12572.
  3. The following credit line must appear in the article/book: All Louis Zukofsky and Celia Zukofsky materials copyright © Musical Observations, Inc. Used by permission.
  4. On publication, a copy should be sent to Musical Observations, Inc.

Permissions request form for use of copyrighted materials of Louis and Celia Zukofsky

Alternatively download request form as PDF, print, scan and send to:

In order to “move things along”, we employ a number of abbreviations throughout the text, viz:


H = Haydn
HSQM = Haydn String Quartet Minuets
SYM(s) = Symphony (ies)
SQ(s) = String Quartet(s)

We consider the data from two perspectives: either in terms of the components of the entire movement; or in terms of the juxtaposition, or opposition, of the three classic divisions of the entire movement, i.e. the minuet section, vs. the trio section, vs. the da Capo.

Any discussion of components involves quotation marks.

"A" = the first "section" of the "minuet" portion of the movement (i.e. up to the first repeat sign).

"B" = the second "section" of the "minuet" portion of the movement(i.e. from the first to the second repeat sign).

"C" = the first "section" of the "trio" portion of the movement (i.e. from the last repeat of the minuet to the first repeat sign of the trio).

"D" = the second "section" of the "trio" portion of the movement (i.e. from the first repeat sign of the trio to the last).

"E" & "F" = sections subsequent, and/or additional, to "A", "B", "C", "D".

The following are ways of thinking about the components, and are italicized.

"ML"(s) = Measure Length(s) (used in "A", "B", "C", etc.).

"S"(s) = Section(s); as in the total number of "A"s, "B"s etc. within an entire movement. These are usually "10-S" but there are also "7-S", "9-S", "11-S" and "14-S" .

"DL"(s) = Different Length(s); as in how many different lengths are used across "A", "B", "C", "D".

"W"(s) = Weight(s); a way to think about and to distinguish different arrangements of various "DL"s.


Any discussion of the juxtaposition of the major divisions involves BOLD.

M = the Minuet sections of the entire movement; i.e. normally "A" + "B".

T = the Trio sections of the entire movement; i.e. normally "C" + "D".

dC = the da Capo section.

TML = Total Measure Length (of an M or T).

PT = Partition Types i.e. how the total of an M (or a T) is partitioned.


A note of caution:

When refering to an entire movement, we say minuet movement, or more simply, movement. M ONLY refers to that part of the movement that occurs before the Trio.